Tuesday, December 29, 2015

The Three Ways of Desire: An Erotic Fantasy Romance

The Three Ways of Desire: An Erotic Fantasy Romance by Judith Rook

I was pleasantly surprised by this story. Firstly, because I thoroughly enjoyed it despite it being a fantasy novel, not the usual genre I read. Secondly, because although I knew there were would be sex scenes, I did not anticipate them to be so hot and steamy. Wow, definitely worth a read.
The main characters Yolande and her Controller Morraine were entertaining and I particularly liked Commander Hagen – he was my favourite in this story. The three had a very interesting relationship. Whilst Morraine wanted Yolande for himself it was not allowed – it was his duty to give her to another family’s Controller. At the same time Hagen wanted Yolande but his birth ranking was too low to offer for Yolande. As for the heroine, she wanted both men for different reasons. Theirs was an interesting love triangle, intermixed with suspense as the other house’s wanted to kidnap her for themselves.
Well done Ms Rook, I look forward to reading more of your erotic fantasy tales.
I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Lorriane Loveit
Lorriane Loveit's Author Facebook page

One Moonlit Night

One Moonlit Night by Gaelen Foley

I first came to love Ms. Foley’s novels when I read the Knight Miscellany series. I usually only read novels but the length of this novella was perfect for the story. I did not find it too rushed and by the first few lines of chapter 2 I was hooked. This is not surprising, given Ms. Foley’s gift for taking the reader back into the regency world, making you feel as if the main characters, Gable and Katrina, are real and you are there with them, watching their romantic interlude develop.
I am really looking forward to the next story featuring their best friends and I can see this series developing into something akin to the Knight Miscellany series, given the number of Katrina’s unwed sisters. I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Lorriane LoveitLorriane Loveit's Author Facebook page

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

31 Days of Autumn

31 Days of Autumn by C.J. Fallowfield

Wow! There are no words to describe the emotion, suspense, just overall feel of this book. I fell in love with Dan and Ellie story in the first two books, but this one just to get to it whole other level. I literally could not help myself but to tear up at parts, and gripping my Kindle so scared I thought was going to break at certain parts. Ms. Fallowfield has completely out done herself with this book. I do believe this is my new favorite of all her books. Like I said I cannot describe the emotions and the suspense that this book pulls and pulls you into but I was pulled in at the every beginning and was completely captivated until the very end.

I received this ARC for and honest review.

Reviewed by Michelle ThompsonMichelle's GoodReads Reviews

A Blue Collar Christmas

A Blue Collar Christmas by J.C. Valentine
What a sweet and sexy little read. I loved it!! This will definitely help keep you warm on a cold winter night. Noel loves her job and is great at it. But one patient and a Christmas party just might change her priorities.

Reviewed by Michelle ThompsonMichelle's GoodReads Reviews

Thursday, December 17, 2015

A Perfect Holiday Fling


A Perfect Holiday Fling (Moments in Maplesville #1)
I picked this little gem up on a fluke, and I'm glad I did. It's a nice holiday read. The characters are well developed, the story was sweet and engaging, and it was an all around enjoyable good read. The characters had their issues, as always, but they were not downtrodden and pitiful about it. I just really enjoy this writers voice and look forward to reading more from her. If you're looking for a nice holiday read with a HEA, and who doesn't want a happy Christmas HEA, I'd definitely recommend this one.



Shimmy for Me


Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Unbound Faith by J.L. Baldwin

Unbound Faith by J.L. Baldwin

What a debut!!!! A great story full of suspense, drama, and laughs. The characters are great, I absolutely loved them. This was definitely a story that gripped me right away and kept me wanting more. Zac has a job to do and protect Jayde but will his emotions and wants get in the way? Jayde just wants to be happy and believes she can find that with Zac until someone else has other plans and wants Jayde to pay for the past.

All I can say is WOW for J.L. Baldwin's debut novel! Great story, great characters, great suspense, definitely a page turner and the ending........I will say it is a cliffhanger that will have you begging for the next book NOW!!

I was gifted an ARC copy from the author for an honest review.

Reviewed by Michelle ThompsonMichelle's GoodReads Reviews

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Red Waves

Amazon
Red Waves by
This was a great story full of drama an some suspense. Audrey ahs a past that she doesn't speak about and still running from,, but every since she first met Chad as a young girl she has fantasied about him. Chad is the surf god that every woman wants, and he never goes for seconds. With a chance encounter these two are brought together again, but can they last? I truly loved these two, but there were a couple of times I thought they acted more like teenagers than 30 year olds. But, again, I did love these characters. I could truly feel Audrey's fear and Chad's frustration along with the love they both feel. This was definitely a great read and I can't wait to jump into the second book.

I was gifted this book for an honest review.


Monday, December 7, 2015

Chasing Memories

Chasing Memories by Ellie Wade

WOW!!! This was just a story it was a journey and I loved every minute of it. What happens when you wake and you remember a life that hasn't happened and your old life just isn't what you once thought it was? Mia wakes up from a coma and while she can remember most of her life she also remembers a life that everyone around her says never happened but to her feels so real. I cannot explain the emotions that came with reading this book. For me it was a powerful journey of always following your heart and dreams no matter where they come from and who doesn't agree with you. This was a journey that filled my heart with hurt, sadness, love, and happiness. Ellie Wade's writing just pulled me in and took me on this journey that showed that as long as you follow your heart you can only truly find your happiness.

I was gifted an ARC from the author for an honest review.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson                                                          Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Grand Final: Playing the Game # 6

Grand Final by Lorraine Loveit

This has been a long, twisting, and turning read with all of these characters. I'm happy that Suzie finally got what she wanted and that Brendan was able to be what she needed him to be. I'm sure whatever magic anger management or therapy he had will have many readers wishing they knew his secret recipe for their own loved ones, friends, or hopefully not themselves. He was a changed man. And, it was great to see Suzie with the relationship that she should have had from the beginning. There are some great characters in this book that I would love to see with their own stories. Jason, of course, is the first one to come to mind. But, there are plenty of others here, even the new JB. Hopefully the story isn't over now that Brendan and Susie's story is concluded.
Ms. Loveit has a way with words that keeps you reading to find out what will happen next. I'm looking forward to whatever that is.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
                                                       Marla's GoodReads Reviews
This book is our book of the month and has also been reviewed by The Next Great Read reviewer Michelle. Click on our book of the month to read both reviews.

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Wilder Destiny: The Guardian Series Book 2

Buy now on Amazon
Wilder Destiny: The Guardian Series Book 2 by G.K. DeRosa
 
HOLY.......Cliffhanger is not the word......As soon as I finished I felt that someone pushed me off the damn cliff. lol WOW!!! If you have read the first book, then you HAVE to read this one. Secrets will be revealed, battles will be fought, but will love endure all. I was desperately waiting for this book to come out and as soon as I got the chance to start it - OMG I could not put it down. This book had me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, turning page by page to see what was going to happen. G.K. DeRosa definitely knows how to pull you in, she pulls you in and holds on until the very end when she drops you making you hang on for dear life until the next book comes out. I know some don't like a cliffhanger, but this is the way to do a cliffhanger in my opinion. Make you want to throw your kindle, huff and puff, scream, then sit there like what the **** just happened. Now begins the stalking for the next book. ;)

I received a copy of this book from the author for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

The Vanilla Bet by Ella Emerson

 Buy now on Amazon
The Vanilla Bet by Ella Emerson
 
Okay, Ella Emerson is quickly becoming a favorite author of mine!!!!! In the past month I have read everyone of her books and already desperately waiting for the next!! Trace is the manwhore-hot, sexy, and doesn't not date- until he loses a bet to have a relationship with Vanessa. Vanessa is running for her past, but not all things can stay in the past..... I have to say, I was not expecting the suspense and heart stopping moments in this book, but OMG they are there and will have you turning the page quickly to see what happens. This book is fast paced and pulls you in on the first page. I don't think my heart rate went back to normal until after the last page. There are twists and turns that will keep you guessing and sweet and loving moments that will have your heart fluttering.
 
Reviewed byMichelle Thompson
 Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Focused & Driven

Buy now at Amazon
Focused & Driven by Savana Jade
Savana Jade has written another masterpiece!! One that will pull at your heart strings, frustrate you, make you laugh, and make you fall in love with not just the characters but the story. This a complete page turner that I didn't want to put down and I only did when I absolutely had to. For me, this was a story that pulled at every emotion in me. I cheered for the characters, got mad at them, cried and laughed with them, and truly fell in love with them. Savana Jade definitely knows how to write a unique story that hits you right in the heart. I finished reading last night and I am still trying to calm my emotions down from reading.

I received an ARC copy for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
 Michelle's GoodReads Reviews


Friday, November 20, 2015

Just One Summer

Buy now on Amazon
Just One Summer by: A.D. Justice
 
Just one summer......No strings.....It's going to get very hot!!!
I have one complaint.....I wish this story was longer!!! I need more! I absolutely loved it!! In just the span of this novella my world got wrapped up within the story. I loved these characters, and you really got a feel for them. A.D. Justice truly put an amazing story in this novella and in the end I actually felt that I had read a full length book with the detail and the power of these characters.
I received this copy for an honest review.
 
Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Breaking Faith

Buy now on Amazon
Breaking Faith by Joy
 
Phenomenal on all accounts!!! Storyline, character, drama, you name it - it was phenomenal! I got so wrapped up in this story that even the once or twice I had to put it down, it was all I could think about until I could pick it back up. There were times my chest literally hurt from feeling the emotions Faith was feeling. Kill completely made me fall in love. He is just an amazing guy that won my heart very quickly . The whole group of friends are truly a family and you can see that love they have for each other. I loved getting to know a little about each one of them. I do have to say I am now desperate for the next book.

I received a copy through The Next Great Read Book Reviews Blog for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson 
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

I am Atlas

Buy now on Amazon
I am Atlas by Ella Emerson

WOW!!!!! I so did not see that ending coming!!! I finished this book yesterday and I think I'm still in shock!! This is a review I am actually really scared to write as I am scared of giving too much away. One thing I can say is you will not be disappointed and you will not see that ending coming. I was so intrigued by this story that I literally read the entire book at work in one day. Luckily, it was a slow day or I think I would have hurt somebody for taking me away from this book. This book will intrigue you, impress you, make you think you know what is going on, maybe even confuse you a little and make you think, it will definitely surprise you, and you will love every minute of it. Well these are my feelings anyway.

I received a copy of this book for an honest review.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
 Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

The Domville 6

Buy now on Amazon
The Domville 6 by CJ Fallowfield

Another night at The Domville. This one is hot and sexy while also sweet. I think this one is my favorite of The Domville series so far. In such a short timespan, I really fell for these characters and their story. I couldn't wait to see how it played out and how it would end. This book completely left me feeling good. I can't wait to see what the next night at The Domville will be.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Spirit Walker

Occult Assassin: Spirit Walker by William Massa

Another great listen by William Massa. I loved the fact that our main character is now sort of working with a team. He was more of a lone wolf before. But, now he's working with others more closely in his battle against evil. This was another fast paced, action packed ride.
And, I love that the same narrator is used. The consistency is great. He really makes the reader feel these characters he's come to know so well, as well as new characters. Another solid listen.
 

Reviewed by Amado Temporal
GoodReads

Friday, November 6, 2015

The Fine Art of Keeping Quiet

The Fine Art of Keeping Quiet by Charity Tahmaseb

I really enjoyed this book. It's a YA book about a girl who doesn't like pubic speaking having to join a speech club to save her grade. Sounds boring right?. But, it so wasn't. I listened to the sample and that sold me on giving it a try. It was a well written, well performed, wonderful little story. I'm so glad I took a chance on this book. The characters were relatable as was her fear of public speaking. This has got to be one of the most dreaded requirements for many students in high school and college. Reasons my be different, but the distaste for it is the same.
At times I didn't understand why Jolia went to such lengths for her friend. And, I didn't understand why she just didn't tell Sam what was going on so he wouldn't wonder and risk losing him. But, it wasn't a distraction. The things we do for our friends.
The speech tournaments were quite interesting. And, I just loved Sam's character. What a sweetie! Overall, just a wonderful listen.
The narrator, Ashley Klanac did a great job. She is also new to me. Her characters were well performed, believable and she just pulled you into the story.
This book was an ARC from the author. And, I'm so glad I agreed to give this one a try. I normally don't care for YA. Kid-lit, yes. But YA, no. But, this was great. I look forward to more from this author. YA at its best.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Duke of Scandal

Duke of Scandal by Gaelen Foley

Another great read from Gaelen Foley. I have been a Gaelen Foley fan for some time now, and was excited about this new series she's begun. She just never disappoints. We met our Duke of Scandal, Naughty Netherford, and Felicity in the prequel, One Moonlit Night. I was intrigued by their potential story and enjoyed watching it unfold.
Felicity was a surprise. She always seemed so passive and proper in the previous book, but comes totally out of her shell in his book.
I really enjoyed Mrs. Foley revisiting Alec Night, and his band of rakehells. I think his story is my all time favorite by Mrs. Foley. Though, I think the timing is set somewhere before Alec's would have taken place since he is no longer a rakehell, and head over heals for his Rebecca.
I think this series is off to a good start. I can't wait to see what will happen with the mystery from One Moonlit Night. It wasn't touched upon here, besides an appearance our two of a key character. Something is a brewing, and I can't wait to see what it is.
This was an ARC provided for an honest review.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
 http://www.marlajosephs.com/
Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Sweet Filthy Boy

Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren

I'm on a roll. The last few books I've chosen have been big winners for me. I loved this book. It made me think of what people with arranged marriages might go through. Though this wasn't an arranged marriage, it's strangers getting married and what happens after. And, yes arranged marriages still happen today. I had a colleague who had an arranged marriage and I was dying to ask, how awkward was that?!?! And, recently found out about a MMA associate who just got back from being married by arranged marriage in her parents home country. Again, I had the burning desire to ask, but didn't of course. Still, that has to be really weird day to day.
I'm sure everyone's experience would be different, but I loved these 2 characters. The whole story was weird good. And, I loved the time in Paris. I just love Paris and it made me remember when I went as an exchange student. I stayed with a wonderful French family and explored Paris very much as she did. I started off each morning with a trip to the patisserie for a pain au chocolat, then it was an eclair, etc. I went through phases. I was reliving the view from the Eiffel Tower amongst other places. Loved it!
I have to say, I wasn't sure I would like the narrator, Shayna Thibodeaux at first. But, after the first few minutes I loved her. She did an amazing job. At first I thought her accent wasn't right. But for someone who was half French, raised in France with an American mother who actually spoke English to him obviously, I thought it was perfect. I see some reviews of people that don't like the narrator. But, I honestly enjoyed her. There was something in the very beginning I couldn't put my finger on that gave me pause, but I was totally engrossed in the first few minutes. So for me anyway, she was great. She brought the characters, the feelings, everything to life.
Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
Marla's GoodReads Reviews

The Vincent Boys


The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I wasn't sure I'd like it, but gave it a chance, and it was great. On the one hand, I felt at times it seemed more like an after high school story. But, then again, I remember some of the drama in high school being something I thought adults would be dealing with not under aged teens. But, that being said, I don't think this is a teen book. It is an adult book about teens.
But, I loved the way Ms. Glines penned this story. The turmoil, tension, genuine love and caring the characters felt for each other. It was great. I liked that all of the characters totally loved each other and cared, and the romance complicated it. It wasn't as simple as love and hate, and jealousy. And, they worked to try and work things out. Great listen.
As far as narration goes, this was the second book I have heard by, Shayna Thibodeaux. And, I loved it. She really pulls you into the story and grabs you. I normally don't care for books with multiple narrators, but this one was great. I also really liked Kirby Heyborne. I thought he pronounced Ashton's name a little strangely, almost like Ashting. But, otherwise, I was very impressed. Sometimes male narrators make woman sound very strange. But, not Mr. Heyborne. I loved this book from beginning to end. I thought the 2 narrators blended well together. Sometimes their style or cadence is so different that it seems they are narrating completely different characters. But, not these two. It was great.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Second Chances

Second Chances by Kristi Rose

I really enjoyed this story. It was a very short read that I would have loved to be longer. But, still it was a full story. I loved the characters. Lorelei's character cracked me up. I loved her sarcasm. Some might not like her character or think she was too bitter or sarcastic, but considering what she'd been through, I thought she was perfect. And, I wanted to not like Cole, but I couldn't. He was remorseful, young, and dumb, and felt really bad about what had happened. Now that they are adults, I totally wanted to see what happened between them.
I listened to the audio version of this book. The narrator, Suzanne Barbetta, did a great job! She really brought the characters and story to life. This book was an ARC and, I'm so happy I chose to read and review it. I'm always on the lookout for my next great read or listen!

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
                                                         Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Monday, November 2, 2015

Grand Final: The Last Game

Grand Final: The Last Game (Playing the Game, #6) by: Lorraine Loveit

How is it going to end?? This was an amazing final book in this series!!! Full of suspense that will truly leave you on the edge of your seat. I loved watching Brendon be the man that we, well I know at least me, have always known he could be. Hoping Jason will find love one day, maybe in the next series....I have to say I really loved watching Jason in this book as well, I think we have truly watched all these characters grow as people and you really can see it in this book. Suzie, who has always been a strong person but I saw so much more strength through her here. Then, there is JB (I think he might deserve his own book at some point), I love his protectiveness and caring. This book, along with the whole series, will pull you in and hold you there until the very end with suspense and drama that will leave you on the edge of your seat, characters that make you laugh and truly care about them, sex scenes that will have you needing a cold shower, and a truly intriguing story.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Sky Watcher

Sky Watcher by Ella Emerson

Oh, how I loved this sweet and loving story. I could not put the book down, and loved watching the story unfold. This is one of those stories that just warmed my heart. Ella Emerson writes a beautiful story that will pull you in, give you the feels, and makes you fall in love with the characters and their story. I actually tried to read very slowly as I did not want it to end, but couldn't help but fly through the pages wanting more.

I received this copy through The Next Great Read Book Review Blog for an honest review.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Freak Out

Freak Out by Ella Emerson
 
Humor, drama, love, family, great characters, and a storyline that pulls you in-yep, this book has it all. I could not put it down. Ms. Emerson definitely knows how to bring her characters to life and make them real. I wanted to smack some characters, while defending some too. I was completely drawn into the characters world, feeling emotions with them. Freak definitely has a way of crashing into your heat and making you love him. This was an amazing and fun story of how you can't judge a book by it's cover!!
I received this copy through The Next Great Read Book Reviews Blog for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

S.O.B.

S.O.B by JC Valentine (Release Date 11/10/2015)
 
This is the first step-brother romance I have read, because I honestly haven't seen the appeal. When I first got the offer to read S.O.B. by J.C. Valentine I was skeptical, but I have loved everyone of Ms. Valentine's book I have read and after reading the synopsis I knew I had to give it a try. Let me tell you I am so glad I did!! I loved this book!!! Vista is so strong and feisty and Levi, well Levi is the rich playboy with a heart of gold under the fa├žade. These two go through such a rollercoaster of not only emotions but of just trying to fight their way through everything that tries to stand in their way. Definitely a story I could not put down.

I received an ARC from the author for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Worth the Chase

Worth the Chase by J.L. Beck (release date 11/03/2015)

J.L. Beck has done it again with amazing book!!! This spin off of two of her other series with now the kids all grown up and trying to find their way. Only thing is in their journey they find each other. I loved watching these two play around one another with their love/hate relationship. Gia is such a great combination of her mother and father. Since I have not read the Bittersweet series yet, all I can say about Chase is he is guy that will definitely win over your heart. They are both trying to find their way while afraid of the emotions they are feeling. I absolutely loved watching them, but have to say at times they both frustrated me to the point I wanted to smack some sense in them both. lol. Their love is one that is definitely worth the chase and this is definitely worth the read!!!!

I received an advanced copy from the author for an honest review.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
                                                         Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Monday, October 26, 2015

Crazy Baby

Crazy Baby by A.D. Justice

A.D. Justice has done it again! What an amazing, torturing story. I couldn't help but to get so wrapped up in the story that I was literally yelling at the characters through my Kindle. Lol these two characters completely frustrated me and made me love them even more all at the same time. Everyone in this book made an impression on me, even Travis got a little bit of my heart. Shane I just fell in love with him. Andy, Luke, pop, Shane, Travis and everyone else will make you laugh and crack up. Miss Justice rights and such amazing characters, they will make you laugh, cry, get frustrated, yellow, and all of the same time you can't help but just get so wrapped up in their story.

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

The Temptress

The Temptress by C. J. Fallowfield

There is no secret that I am a huge fan of C.J. Fallowfield, from Gabe and Mia to Dan and Ellie, to Logan and Summer, but I have to say that Lulu and Luc are by far my most favorite to date!! This story truly took me through so many emotions from happy tears to sad tears back to happy tears, I laughed, cried, and was truly happy. I cannot describe how heartfelt and amazing this story of true love is. Not only has Ms. Fallowfield wrote another amazing book, but again this is my favorite of all!!!
ARC provided for an honest review

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

OMG! This is my first time reading this author’s work and I am so impressed with her style, the tension, the chemistry between the characters, and the ability to have me eagerly reading each page that I anticipate reading all of her other novels.
Lulu and Luc are so different, but that’s what makes them so irresistible to each other. It is easy to get caught up in this story of lost love. It had me, the reader, rooting for them to find their way despite all the obstacles thrown in their path.
Congratulations, Ms. Fallowfield, on a truly heart wrenching/warming story. I highly recommend this to anyone that has ever experienced lust, love or both. And finally, I just wanted to add that the sex scenes were hot!

Lorriane Loveit
author/reader/reviewer
Genres: Erotica, Chick Lit, Romance, Sports
Lorriane Loveit's Author Facebook page

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Beauty & The Biker

Beauty & The Biker by Glenna Maynard

Wow! No doubt I am a huge fan of Glenna Maynard's work, I have not read a book by her that was not completely phenomenal and this one is no exception! Amazing, phenomenal, sensational, none of these words even do it justice. I do have to say this is the first one she has written that has not completely gutted me, but it definitely is full of emotion. You can't help but just to be drawn in from the first page and you cannot put it down until the last, to the very end the last word. Actually I would have loved loved to see this as a series I feel like I just can't get enough of it. This was such an amazing twist on such a wonderful fairy tale of Beauty and the Beast, that you just can't help but to fall in love with the story all over again and almost see it in a whole different way. If you love a good fairy tale and love a good biker book, can you definitely need to read this along with any and every other books by Glenna Maynard.
I received this book from the author for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Hell is Empty, and All the Devils Are Here

Hell is Empty, and All the Devils Are Here by Mark Rounds

In “Hell is Empty, and All the Devils Are Here” the very high quality of the writing is immediately attractive. Without doubt this is one of the better contemporary apocalyptic novels, with a storyline which presents an acceptable reality, leading to highly believable action. It is not a reality which one would wish to experience, in which a viral plague, produced and dispersed by a highly placed but unrevealed cabal, overturns the order of the world.
It is well known that in such fictional situations the human spirit tends to rise and burn brightly in certain individuals. These become leaders, resolving the situation as best they can, and in “Hell is Empty” there is an abundance of such people, both male and female.
They appear as strong individuals, but as characters in a novel, they are somewhat undeveloped. Perhaps this is to be expected. In an apocalyptic survival story, with a strong military color, individual character growth will take second place to the action; and throughout the course of the book the inexorable development of the plague itself is the main focus of the storyline.
The survivor characters are all firmly identified with the military and law enforcement arms of society. They are calm and resourceful. They are very knowledgeable and capable in all areas, from being able to produce the statistical information needed to understand the spread of the disease to the planting of home-made napalm bombs to protect their houses, not to mention fighting off bike gangs.
It is this reassuring quality which the author personifies in the chief character, Chad. It is a strength which carries him and his family, together with his equally capable and experienced friend, the somewhat enigmatic Dave, through the first stages of survival.
Rounds knows what makes a compelling story. There is a villain, an unpleasant “spook”, high in the echelons of Homeland Security, the creature of the faceless evil. Macklin is a character equally as strong as those he opposes, and through him the author achieves a balance of understanding between how the forces of evil operate and how the forces of good get along in opposition.
If the title of the novel has been taken from Act I of Shakespeare’s play “The Tempest”, another Shakespearean allusion can perhaps be seen at work in the action in general. In “Hamlet” Polonius advises his son to avoid getting into trouble but if he finds himself in it, he is to make sure that he gives a good account of himself. In this book the positive characters do exactly that. Although the infected plague victims act in a traditionally terrifying zombie-like manner without actually being corpses, the uninfected survivors manage to cope without sacrificing too much of their basic human generosity of spirit.
The plot is tight and fast and the passing of time is handled very effectively through the use of datelines. If these had not been included it would be difficult to follow the events as they unfold in different places, but Rounds handles what is in fact a very tricky structural need with the aplomb of a multi-book author. One could wish that these prompts stood out a little more clearly within the text, but they are there, and they certainly help.
The storyline and action are thoroughly authentic. From the first recognition of the plague, Rounds shows what happens in military emergency councils; he reveals the decisions which are made and the plans which are formed. It is quite clear that he intends to suggest that this fictional reality is very close to the reality we all know, and he is completely successful.
Certain editorial errors which seem to identify many online independently published books can be overlooked in the face of Rounds’ accomplished achievement. In full command of a distinctive and persuasive writing style he has presented a knowledgeable, authentic, thoroughly interesting and possibly disturbing, story.
“Hell is Empty and All the Devils Are Here” is highly recommended for general reading, even to those who may feel that stories of the apocalypse are not their preferred genre.

Reviewed by Judith Rook
Judith's Facebook Page

Floating

Floating by Michelle Dare
Emotions, chills, this story has it all. This was such a powerful and moving read for me. I literally had chills at times, laughed, there were moments I was holding my breath, and there were moments I was so filled with pride. These characters are so strong in the sense that you become apart of their world, but also in what they accomplish. I had the biggest smile on my face when I finished and just felt all warm and fuzzy inside. Lucy and Ellis are a couple that you just can't help but to let into your heart.
I received this copy from the author for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Domville

Domville by C.J. Fallowfield

This is story one in a series of short stories. Each story centers around a guest The Domville hotel. Sam and Lexi's story was engaging. I like C. J. Fallowfield's writing style and characters. The storyline was also great and characters well developed. As is common for me with short stories, I was left wanting a longer story. In this case, I really wanted a more complete conclusion to this story. Sam and Lexi's story was so engaging and interesting, that I wanted to know how they ended up. However, it didn't stop me from wanting to read the next one. I want to give this story 3.5 stars only because I want to know what happens with Sam and Lexi. And, it isn't just a cliffhanger, I don't think. There just is no other story. HOWEVER, this little irritation is not one that would make me regret reading it, or not read more by this author. So, I'll be diving in to story 2.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
                                                         Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Deep in Death

Deep in Death by Colleen Helme
Audiobook Narrated by Wendy Tremont King

I love a hot, steamy romance as much as the next romance fan. However, I'm also a big mystery fan and was ready for a change. So, when I was given a chance to listen to and review this book, I gave it a chance. I'd never read anything from this author before, so I was reall on the fence about it, and was hoping I hadn't made a mistake. Boy, am I glad I tried it.
This is likely to be considered more of a cozy mystery, but it has a little bite to it. It's not all fluff. It had a great mix of intensity and suspense along, I with humor and lightheartedness. It wasn't to gruesome or intense, yet not too soft either. At times I thought that maybe there were slightly too many cases or mysteries going on with Shelby, but yet it didn't make me want to put it down for a second. Ms. helme has penned a very engaging and intertwining story, with interesting characters. I even love the tension between Shelby and Remos and her chiding herself for it because of Chris. Won't say anymore about that. And, it's even more exciting that it's a series! I am a sucker for a good series.
I just wasn't sure from the description if I would like it. There was a 50/50 chance. So, I let the narration sample decide. And, Wendy Tremont King sold it. Her narration was wonderful. I've never listened to her before either, but thought she really brought the story and characters to life. Her interpretation of each character and their personalities was creative and believable. I was so pleasantly surprised and looking forward to more from both author and narrator.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Star Viking

Star Viking by Hugh B. Long
This book is space opera brought to a height. Not a new height because all the familiar structures are there; all the huge action of vast space battles, all the intriguing cooperation between people of different races under the banner of benevolent government, all the conflict between the good that humanity and its allies are capable of and the nasty evil that villainous aliens bent on universal domination can unleash.
The theme is simple. A force of space-going warriors under the command of Haldor Olsen is dedicated to protecting the human space colonies, particularly to defeating the evil predators and slavers, the blue-skinned Hrymar.
This is a theme familiar to very many people, and it carries an enduring interest. But the author has not simply jumped onto a proven bandwagon. He presents the basic idea through a new and complex storyline which will appeal to any space opera or hard sci-fi fan. It also holds an engaging romantic interest involving the hero and an elf maiden; there is also a cute child and a strange animal companion to round off the solid worth of the main character.
The background to the plot is old-Earth Norse culture and mythology which will already hold a significance for many readers. The concept provides the values and motivation for much of the action but what is not always made clear is where the author’s vivid imagination takes over from established record.
There is little doubt about the imaginative energy which Long brings to the telling of this story. The ideas almost tumble over one another, but there can be too many ideas and some of the events are presented so quickly that their significance in the storyline is lost, and one or two sections of the plot are puzzling.
In some instances the prose lacks complete fluency and becomes slightly ponderous, but this is balanced by the care which the author takes with detailed descriptions of people and settings. One might wish that the very short epilogue had not been included. Although it may carry the storyline into the future, it does detract from the resolution of the final, almost poetic chapter.
There is no doubt at all that this author can write truly riveting space battle scenes. This is one of the strongest aspects of the book and from the written word emerges a completely visual impression. In this area, Long proves himself to be a master. The starships are described in all necessary detail, the fighting techniques are made thoroughly clear and the actions and responses of the characters involved take the reader fully into the world of conflict between strangely shaped and unbelievably powerful vessels against a cosmic background. There are many such battle scenes throughout the book, very attractive to sci-fi readers in particular and also to action readers in general.
The aliens are given the attention they deserve; the author takes the reader into the mind of the enemy. But they are not treated sympathetically, they are monsters through and through, their evil-doing is almost beyond human belief and yet there is a very slight suggestion that some of them at least might be capable of change, and that could be a matter for the continuation of this massive storyline.
Another source of great interest is the development of the main characters. Although the author’s presentation of individual temperament is not as strong as are his scenes of conflict, there are situations which interest and intrigue throughout the book. The hero accepts that he must allow innocents to be killed when necessary, he will destroy numbers of enemy captives instead of attempting to redeem them, the romantic relationship is affected by a quality not usually found in people who want to become lovers and a father/son connection receives a strange twist.
“Star Viking” falls squarely into the space opera genre. It deals with quite well-developed characters and generally controlled and convincing situations; there is an enormous amount of outstandingly good fight conflict, a highly satisfactory building of a world structure and way of life, and at the end of the tale one is left with a sense of reading time very well spent.
Reviewed by Judith Rook

Judith's Facebook Page

Thursday, October 1, 2015

Wounded Beast

Wounded Beast by Georgia Le Carre

Another Eden brother has won my heart. Ella just might be the woman to tame the beast that is Dom Eden. Georgia Le Carre has truly done it again with this one. Her writing makes the story and characters come alive. You can't help but to live in their world with the descriptive way Georgia writes. You can see it, feel it, hear it, and completely immerse yourself in it. The suspense will suck you in, waiting to see what's going to happen. And the love you can feel through every page. Oh.....let's not forget the super hot, steamy, and all out amazing sex scenes that will have you breathing hard and in a major need of fresh air. :)

Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Girlsquad

Expected Release date November 2015
Girlsquad by J.A. Heron
 
This was such a pleasant read. These four girls are great. They are relatable, or you know someone like these girls. All four are so unique, yet they come together in a wonderful supporting friendship. Each on with their own life, worries, fears, and loves. I loved the banter of all the different personalities. They challenge yet complement each other well. I couldn't help but get wrapped up in all their lives and become one of the girls myself sharing in their happiness, fears, and sadness. I received a copy for an honest review through
                                                                                       The Next Great Read Book Reviews Blog.
 
                                                                                      
                                                                                      Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
                                                                                       Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Deadly Messenger

Deadly Messenger by Susan May

When I was offered “Deadly Messengers” to read in exchange for a review I was excited, but hesitant. I hoped that it wasn’t a thriller than had the same theme that had been already done. Once I began reading, I quickly realized it was a theme and story completely out of the box.
Susan May brings the book to life with her intense and suspensful descriptions. The scenes that contain the murders are so poetically written that the words just flow. When reading you can expect goosebumps.
The plot and story are complexed and constructive leaving the reader practically begging to know who done it. She shows her creativity and her talent for writing such vivid imagery in this spectacular written thriller. It absorbs the reader pulling them deeper into the book.
Susan May is without a doubt an author to follow. I have to recommend this must read to any reader.

                                                                    Reviewed by Kristin Hinkle
                                                                    The After Dark Reading Nook

Friday, September 25, 2015

Manwhore

Manwhore by Katy Evans
Audiobook Narrated by Grace Grant

This is a book I would normally avoid. I did avoid it. It kept coming up over and over again, however, as an audible recommendation. So, I finally took the plunge. I read the negative reviews and thought I'd find the same wooden characters, it was all about some woman so addicted to rather boring and one sided sex with some self centered, insecure, egotistical man...
Wow, was I wrong. I could totally see how some of the things in the negative reviews could drive them crazy. They were things that would drive me crazy normally too. But, I actually liked this book for having Rachel's thoughts, some of her strange ways, etc. They came off like real people with all of the quirks and hang ups, good and bad. Rachel having real reservations about sleeping with this man who is obviously a womanizer makes total sense to me. I didn't see it as slut shaming, but I can totally understand why she didn't want to be one of them. I can't relate to desperate women myself. I don't judge them, I just don't understand them. But, he actually showed real interest in her, his actions showed he cared, he wasn't just abusing and using her. Too me, that is such a more realistic struggle. Being attracted to a guy who's totally hot, treats you nicely, does caring things for you, pleases you both in and out of bed, but not wanting to get involved because he has a major player and womanizing reputation? Yes!! I can see that!! Seems more realistic and healthy to me.
Being in love with some guy who treats you like crap, gets off on hurting you, then you say how nice he was to sooth your bruises and hurts after he inflicted them, let's not forget that you really aren't into his abusive sex, but he likes it so you'll suffer through is so...not interesting. If you want a guy to spank you, tie you up, etc and he does, then yea I get it. But, if you don't and you're just being some guys small tortured animal he can abuse at will and somehow you can't get away from the creep and think that's love, but somehow it's hot and the character doesn't see there's an abuse situation here? I don't think so. not my kind of read. Those stories that show the character understands the problem and is helpless against this persons pull? I can even do that. But, mistaking abuse for love, I just can't get into. It takes all kinds though, and I know some readers love it. So, I'm not judging. But, I digress.
This is the first book I have listened to by Katy Evans and I was MAJORLY, PLEASANTLY SURPRISED. I lost sleep trying to finish this book I was so stuck. I was so glad I read the reviews about it being a cliffhanger, because boy was it. Again, another thing I know some readers don't like. But I don't mind. I thought the inner struggles of the characters and the thoughts were done brilliantly, and that is testament to the author. Because normally, having that much inner dialogue would drive me nuts. But, I was going through the emotional changes and challenges with the characters.
I'm not sure, but I don't believe I've ever listened to anything by Grace Grant and ended up with 2 books narrated by her back to back. She did an awesome job. She really captured the characters and put you into the story. I could see and feel everything. It was like watching a movie in my head. I love her interpretation of the characters and her flow. She has no little nuances that take you out of the story. Great book with a great narrator is win win! I'll be diving in for more of both. 

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
http://www.marlajosephs.com/
Marla's GoodReads Reviews

One Moonlit Night

One Moonlit Night by Gaelen Foley

I love Gaelen Foley's work. But, I often don't do Novella's because they just don't have enough time for character development and things often feel rushed. But, I enjoyed this one. Yes, I would have loved this story to be longer, but Ms. Foley does a great job of creating likable characters and not trying to add to much to a short story. Though one could complain that everything happened too fast, the story and characters were there. It felt full. After the initial first chapter or 2, I found myself fully engaged and enjoying the story. If I'm just hunting for something negative to say, I could pick apart wishing there was more of this or that. But, it is a novella and I enjoyed it. It didn't leave me hanging as if it was actually part of the first book and I was just getting a glimpse at the next one. It was a complete story. And, I'm looking forward to the next book.
I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Marla Josephs
                                                         http://www.marlajosephs.com/
                                                         Marla's GoodReads Reviews

Thursday, September 24, 2015

March to November by Byddi Lee

March to November by Byddi Lee

March to November is about love and loss, betrayal and trust, happiness and despair and the cycles of grief. It details the events of Tracey Duggan and her friends and family lives during the months of March to November, hence the title. The book is set in modern-day Belfast, Ireland. There are 4 predominate characters in this novel. Tracey Duggan, Molly Duggan, Dermot Duggan and Tommy O’Brian. It deals with the doomed marriage of Molly and Dermot, Tracey’s best friend and brother. Molly must accept that her love and obsession has left her for another woman and their impending “love child.” It details past abusive relationships and the terror that comes back to haunt Tracey in her budding relationship with Tommy. The author does an excellent job getting the reader to fall into the lives of these characters and make you feel like you are a fly on the wall watching or as a friend. I fell into despair with Molly at first and in love with Tommy as if I were Tracey. I had a love hate relationship with Dermot because I understood the betrayal Tracey felt but the lingering hope she had in this messed up situation they were in.
I never really fell for Sheila, Dermot’s new girlfriend. She seemed as cold as her apartment, all white and clean lines. She seemed distant and reserved yet at times showed her humanity when she thought of losing Dermot. She never seemed to connect with the pregnancy so the twist at the end was accepted as real.
Molly’s heartache was so real until it became almost too much. Her obsession with Dermot and her demented revenge set the pace for the downward spiral that her life took. I was so happy to see her get to the stage of acceptance and was hurt by the twist that spiraled to a bombshell for everyone to deal with near the end. I was happy to see the growth in Tommy and Dermot by the end of the book.
Out of the minor characters, Orla is probably my favorite. I love her no nonsense “grab life by the balls and hold on tight” personality. I laughed at so many of her comments. She really brought out the Irish setting with her way of saying things such as:
“F*** off! No way did I lead him on. He was drunk as a skunk.”
Fury pummeled Molly.
“Well, he’d have to be. Look at you!” she screamed and jabbed her forefinger at Orla. That slut always threw herself at men, Dermot couldn’t help it!
“Jesus Christ, that’s a bit low. I might not be Scarlett Johansson, but that randy f***er would poke a hole in the wall if the wall let him.”
I would recommend this to anyone looking for bit of romanticism with a twist.

I received a copy of this book from the author and After Dark Reading Nook in return for a fair and honest review. Thank you for this opportunity.

Click here to find out more about “March to November” by Byddi Lee
Read our interview with Byddi Lee!!

Reviewed by Amanda
Amanda's Book Review Club
After Dark Reading Nook

Three Ways of Desire

Three Ways of Desire by Judith Rook
 
I didn't know what to expect when I decided to read this and being honest, once I started I didn't know how I was going to fee about this book. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this story. Judith Rook is a great author who writes a strong storyline that flow beautifully. The story and writing will draw you in. The characters were good with great character development. If you are looking for a good story with some hot, steamy, panty melting sex scenes - This one is off the charts hot and steamy!! All around I would say this book was a good read that that definitely keeps you turning the page.
I was given this copy for an honest review through The Next Great Read Book Review blog.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Letting Go by B.A. Wolfe

Letting Go by B.A. Wolfe 
 
Tear, speechless, and more tears. In this companion novella we revisit Away, which completely shattered me, but in Jase's POV. I undeniably fell in love with Jase all over again with Letting Go. Even knowing what was going to happen and trying to prepare myself for what was to come, I still cried. I did not feel like I was re reading the same book again. Jase made it his own and gave it his soul, which just made a completely phenomenal story that much better. B.A. Wolfe is an amazing writer. Each book and character has taken a piece of my heart.
I was gifted this ARC for an honest review.
 
Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
Michelle's GoodReads Reviews

Azurite: Daughter of the Mountain Book One


Azurite: Daughter of the Mountain Book One by Megan Dent Nagle

When I was first sent the book description of
“Azurite: Daughter of the Mountain Book One” by Megan Dent Nagle, to see if I was interested in reviewing it, I quickly found myself intrigued. Magic, imagination, fantasy and a twisting complex plot. I just couldn’t keep myself from wanting to see where the author would take the story and just exactly how it all would turn out. Because of my interest in just the mere description I had high hopes for this book and I wasn’t let down at all.
The author is remarkably talented and describes every detail in a well thought out story. She creates a fantasy world that yet seems so real to the reader. It was a read that kept me completely absorbed all the way through.
The main character, Zora, is easy to like and enjoyable. I found myself cheering her on at times. Megan Nagle is an amazing author who has potential to go far with her creativity and imagination. She weaves a story that books you in and doesn’t let go to the very last page, yet still by then wanting more.
This is a excellent start to a series and I’m sure Book Two will be just as great. I recommend this book to any reader who wants to get lost in another world for awhile and just escape.
I was provided a copy of this book by the author for my honest review.
Reviewer: Kristin
Click here to read about Azurite and find out how to get yourself a copy!
See the author Megan Dent Nagle’s Interview here!

Reviewed by Kristin Hinkle
The After Dark Reading Nook

I Wish


I Wish by Elizabeth Langston

When I first received “I Wish” by Elizabeth Langston, I was overly excited. After reading the books description, it sounded intriguing, different, and tempting. I couldn’t wait. Upon reading this book I wasn’t disappointed a bit. It was exactly as I hoped and even more.
The main character, Lacey, is very relatable and likeable. I felt how hard she tried and how much weight she shouldered. I believe my favorite aspect of the story is when she discovers the Genie, or as called in the book Benevolent Supernatural Being (BSB). Her BSB, Grant, at first seemed stiff, but quickly he fell in place. In-between chapters when he submitted his reports to his boss it showed his side and how he perceives everything in Lacey’s life.
The author, Elizabeth Langston, out did herself with this one. Her creativity and outcome of the story deserves applause. I can recommend this book to every reader that wants to get lost in a great authors imagination.
I was provided a free copy of this book by the author for my honest review.

                                                        Reviewed by Kristin Hinkle
                                                        The After Dark Reading Nook

Forever Grace

Forever Grace by Linda Poitevin

Emotional and suspenseful are the best words I can think of to describe this book. It was very well written and you can truly feel the characters' emotions through the entire book. The fear, paranoia, determination, helplessness, exhaustion, and the love are so powerful in this book. The suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat with not only what is going to happen but when. This is the fist book I have read by Linda Poitevin and I have fallen in love with her writing and the away she draws you into the story and the world her characters live in. She made the characters so real. Through all the fear, determination, and everything, the book left me feeling complete and proud of the characters. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a great suspenseful romance.

I was given a copy of this book for an honest review through The Next Great Read Book Blog.


                                                     Reviewed by Michelle Thompson
                                                      Michelle's GoodReads Reviews